1. Food Handlers Course for Cottage Food Businesses
Beginning January 1, 2014 an owner of a Cottage Food business is required to have a food handler’s card from a state accredited program. Our accredited food handler’s course will help you learn basic food safety practices that can help assure the food you prepare and sell is safe.
- is less than 2 hours in length
- costs $15.00 per person online
- is accredited by Texas Department of State Health Services
Upon completion of the Food Handlers course, you will be able to print a Food Handlers card. This card will be valid for 2 years and can be verified online. The cost of the course does not cover any fees associated with your local health department.
If you have any regulatory questions, please contact Rebecca Dittmar at (830) 896-9037 or Julie Prouse at (979) 458-2025. You can also contact us online.
2. Cooking up a Cottage Food Business
In Texas, the Cottage Food Law allows residents to prepare and sell specific foods from an unlicensed residential (home) kitchen. This course is designed to help people who want to start a cottage food production operation out of their residence. Through this course individuals will gain knowledge of the Texas Cottage Food Law and general rules and best practices for preparing food safely.
- is about 1 hour in length
- costs $7.00 per person online